Use and storage of Inflatable Dinghy

MYCBC – Why Join Us Forums General Discussion Use and storage of Inflatable Dinghy

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Use and storage of Inflatable Dinghy
      , Thu May 08 2008, 10:19PM

My wiife and I have just purchased a 2002 26X from a man in Parksville. We live in Campbell River and Frances II is now at her moorage in Pacific Playgrounds just south of Campbell River. Other than cleaning and storing we haven’t had a chance to venture out to sea yet but are hoping to do so this weekend. Hopefully it will warm up a bit by then. Although a 30 year veteran of the Canadian Navy as a seaman officer I have little experience in small boats. Boat handling with the 50 hp Honda will be a major challenge but I have friends in our local power squadron willing to take the time to teach me.

I also bought a 7.5 ft inflatable dinghy, still sitting in its box in my garage. Once inflated, how is the best/easiest way to bring the dinghy on board for storage up for’d. Or do most people tow it behind?
      I’d appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

Re: Use and storage of Inflatable Dinghy
      Andrew & Suzanne, Fri May 09 2008, 06:53PM

I just tow mine behind the boat, but only take i if we will be using it. When were at the dock it fits up on the bow upside down. It is a little work to get it up on the deck but I do it to avoid the growth on the bottom.

saynomore, Mon May 12 2008, 06:33PM

Dear Ed, I’m “in the same dinghy”, I was told by one of the members the dinghy can be placed on the forward deck and it is not in your way if you have a furler, it can be towed, or like mine comes with a pump and can be rolled and stowed in the lower berth behind/next to the sink.
      Steve
      Commodor e, MYCBC

, Thu Sep 11 2008, 03:39AM

I made a cradle on the rear mast carrier for a 7 foot dinghy ! I tow once in the Islands!
      Can post pics if interested !

singlesailor, Sat Sep 13 2008, 10:08PM