Training and Certification

MYCBC – Why Join Us Forums General Discussion Training and Certification

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Hi all,

I’m a bit of a student at heart. I was a keener and a PITA at my CPS course, where I of course got the know it all trophy. When I was done I was excited and looked at all the other courses they offer. I think CPS is wonderful and hope they continue to successfully educate boaters so we can all enjoy safer and greener cruising.

However, I found CPS is lacking in hands on training. A former apprentice of mine found himself involved in sailing in England and the rigors he went through to get an RYA Coastal Day Skipper cert made the CPS boating course look like kindergarten. The main difference was the hands on and logged hours at sea. From what I gather CYA is more like RYA but I haven’t spent the $ to find out. I also don’t want to spend $ to duplicate my previous learning.

My wife took a 5 day cruise and learn “competent to crew” course where they had no wind and she didn’t get to complete her cert. The sailing organization providing the cert is also not well known and had an internal rift separating power from sail. Not sure insurers or charter companies would look at this at all.

I’ve also gathered that all these boating courses don’t necessarily mean anything to professionals, but I can’t seem to readily find a professional training school or courses? Where do BC Ferries and Seaspan send there guys? Who certifies them?

Right now I’m young enough not to rule out operating a charter business or sailing school. I’m always dreaming of a “cool” retirement venture. I would like to continue my training and achieve some more certification but I would like the confidence of knowing the end result will be accepted if I pursue my charter operation.

So after a long preamble, what organizations are out there? Which organization or certification should I pursue? What have you done?