Introduction and Question

MYCBC – Why Join Us Forums General Discussion Introduction and Question

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Introduction and Question
      Tedd, Sat Jan 05 2013, 11:30AM

I have not yet joined MYCBC, but I joined this forum yesterday. I guess I’m what you would call a wannabe at this point, just testing the waters for a possible future foray into sailing. A trailerable sailboat looks like by far the best option for me, and the MacGregors seeem to be the best trailerables.
      My background in sailing is not extensive. I sailed a Bombardier 3.8 a lot growing up, and sailboards a little bit in the 80s, but I’ve never had any formal instruction. I’m a former air force pilot, though, so I am familiar with vector navigation and reading charts and forecasts. I’m also a mechanical engineer, so am somewhat familiar with aerodynamics and hydrodynamics. So I’m looking forward to learning more about sailing, which seems to be related to those subjects in new and interesting ways.
      Now to my question. Being an engineer, one of the first things I did was go out and collect data on MacGregors that were for sale, and then developed an asking price curve, by year — because I’m a nerd and I like to do stuff like that. One thing that jumps out from the data is that asking prices in Canada are much higher — about 15 percent higher on older models, up to about 40 percent higher on more recent models. Clearly, exchange rate is not the issue anymore. So why such a big difference? I can understand that there would be some difference, since there is some cost and effort involved in importing a boat. But a difference of $10k or more is hard to explain.

Re: Introduction and Question
      Gemini, Sat Jan 05 2013, 01:52PM