Fuel consumption on 1999 Honda 50

MYCBC – Why Join Us Forums General Discussion Fuel consumption on 1999 Honda 50

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

I am new to sailing my MacX with the 50 hp Honda, circa 1999, and I am wondering what I can expect for range on my 12 gallons of fuel? Thanks. Richard

Kelvin Dueck
      Participant

First, all of this is dependent on wind and current. I have a 60 HP Yamaha, and I can get around 50 nautical miles at 13 knots (ballast out), and around 75+ nautical miles at 6 knots (ballast in).

Anonymous

Thanks Kelvin, and is that on 12 gallons of fuel? My confusion is that Google searches suggest a 50 HP motor should consume 5 gallons an hour, and at say 7knots, that would suggest only about Lund 8 miles for 5 gallons! I know I must be thinking about this incorrectly! Help?

Anonymous

5 Gallons per hour would be at a specific RPM and load. We on Macgregors typically run at lower RPM and lower loads than other boats because most of us run at ~6 knots (hull speed) so our fuel consumption per hour is relatively low. Assuming no current or wind I would be surprised if you use more than 2 gallons per hour at 6knots and will likely be FAR less than that, probably less than 1 gallon per hour. Let’s assume a worst case scenario of 2 gallons per hour at 6 knots so 12 gallons multiplied by 6 knots = a range of 24 nautical miles. That is probably worst case though and in reality you will probably burn less than 1 gallon per hour and have a range of 50+ nautical miles with 12 gallons. With all of that being said if you run at WOT (wide open throttle, meaning as fast as your motor can go) you could probably burn 5 gallons per hour or more and have a range of between 15 and 20 nautical miles. There are a lot of variables (wind, current, waves etc) and each engine and boat will be different.

Kelvin Dueck
            Participant

What Darren said above.